Gilliabrand Urges Feds to Boost Ontario County's Exports

News Date: 

Standing at Cornell Agriculture and Food Technology Park, Senator Kirsten Gillibrand pushes for new Foreign Trade Zone designation that would grow and attract businesses across the Finger Lakes, allow more companies easier access to tax breaks and incentives to boost exports, and streamline application process.  Ontario County's Foreign Trade Zone application includes the entire 6-County region --- Wayne, Seneca, Yates, Livingston, and Steuben Counties.

In her letter to Commerce Secretary Pritzker, Senator Gillibrand wrote, "This FTZ distinction will allow OCEDC to collaborate with five neighboring counties of Livingston, Steuben, Yates, Seneca, and Wayne to assist local companies in growing their businesses by expanding into international markets.  This designation would allow for important incentives that could reduce the cost of doing business for participating companies, increase their competitiveness, and help them access new exporting opportunities.  The FTZ designation will also minimize the need for businesses to shift their operations to foreign countries to be nearer emerging markets, keeping more jobs in the United States."